//
you're reading...
churchplanting, family, life

life after the 9-5

It’s been all of four workdays since my last day at Quest, but in every conversation I get the same question: what are you doing with all your free time? Most people seem to be picturing a post work reality kind of like this:

Leah in Hawaii, 2009


In a perfect world, a beach in Hawaii would be wonderful. In reality, I’m at Swedish Medical Center on Cherry Hill, waiting for my dad. While this week has passed in a flurry of meetings with friends, people interested in hearing more about the churchplant, and the denomination powers that be, none of that has really been at the forefront. About three weeks ago, a few days before we left for the churchplanting assessment in Phoenix, my dad was diagnosed with a form of early onset Alzheimers. At 56, my dad is one of the most active people I know. After spending almost thirty years as a logger, he transitioned a few years ago to a safer job as a prison guard. He had hoped to retire from the prison, and enjoyed settling into his new career while continuing to do tree jobs on the weekends with my older brother. The day we received the diagnosis, my dad was also told he would not be able to return to work. Now, we’re in the process of paperwork, tests, and finalizing the diagnosis. Vacations, free time, relaxing on a tropical beach? All I want is my dad. Please remember my dad, mom, and family in prayer during this time of uncertainty and fear.

Dad and I two years ago, on my wedding day.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “life after the 9-5

  1. Leah, this must be very difficult. I will definitely keep you all in my prayers.

    Posted by Andrea | December 6, 2009, 1:01 am
  2. thanks for the update, let me know if you need anything. ❤

    Posted by LK | December 6, 2009, 2:27 am
  3. ❤ Robyn & I are praying for you & family.

    Posted by Jonathan Edmund | December 6, 2009, 7:41 am
  4. PLeah – praying for you. let me know if there’s anything i can do, say, be… or if you just need some pho therapy. i love you very much and miss your face like WOAH.

    Posted by jHong | December 9, 2009, 4:17 am
  5. thanks everyone for the prayers! they mean a great deal to all of us. jess, at some point we all need some pho therapy! miss you too!

    Posted by leahklug | December 9, 2009, 9:04 pm
  6. Pastor Leah, I am so very sorry. How devastating that such a strong, active and loving man is losing a part of himself, even more devastating that this man is your father. Isn’t it amazing that you are being called to plant, grow and lead a new church when your family is facing such an uncertain future.

    My father turned into a different man after he developed, and later died from, brain cancer. Watching my strong, intelligent father gradually lose his understanding of the world around him left me weak and kneeling. Your father is so young, so many years lie ahead. I pray that you feel connected to the dad you know and love, no matter what may come. I pray for healing and protection from pain or sorrow. I pray that you are surrounded by another church family so very soon — one that will shower you and your family with the love you need.

    Posted by Rosalind Sciammas | December 13, 2009, 7:22 am

Leave a Reply

About Me

wife, partner, daughter, and sister. traveler on the journey of faith. rage against the machiner. sometimes pastor.

Archives

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
