//
you're reading...
fun, global presence, life

stopover in dubai

After 18+ hours of travel, I arrived in Dubai a few hours ago for a 12 hour layover and decided to attempt pictures and a blog post. While it’s considered overnight here, thankfully I’m still enough on Seattle time to process it more like a day spent walking around the airport. There were a few indicators along the way that the airport here is a little different.

First sight out of security: Lamborghini Gallardo LPS60.  This could be a nice take-home gift for Alan.

First sight out of security: Lamborghini Gallardo LPS60. This could be a nice take-home gift for Alan.

Next up, I took a look at the map to find food, restrooms, oh, and GOLD.

Umm...just what do they mean by "Gold"?

Umm...just what do they mean by "Gold"?

And then I realized they’re serious about their Gold.  The long counters are separated by karat weight, and ‘special’ vs. ‘regular’. I could only take a quick snap walking by, the security guards didn’t seem too crazy about pictures in this area.

The staff at the 24 karat counter, hanging out.

The staff at the 24 karat counter, hanging out.

Since I already had my eye on the Lamborghini for Alan, I decided to pick a little something out for myself as well. Tasteful, understated, modest.

A nice little bauble. Seriously, the last time I saw a rock this big I was in the Tower of London checking out the crown jewels. Sheesh.

A nice little bauble. Seriously, the last time I saw a rock this big I was in the Tower of London checking out the crown jewels. Sheesh.

After passing the hotel, spa, two story French restaurant and bar, I thought I heard a waterfall. Turns out, I did.

Getting back to nature...

Getting back to nature...

And now, after all that, I think it’s time for prayer. Good thing the prayer rooms are everywhere!

prayerroom

Discussion

One thought on “stopover in dubai

  1. Hey you, Glad to know you arrived safe:} Of course you would take pictures where people probably shouldn’t.:} Nice car. I thought Alan was strickly a BMW type guy….
    Love you
    Mom

    Posted by kathy Mc Cann ( Mom) | July 15, 2009, 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

About Me

wife, partner, daughter, and sister. traveler on the journey of faith. rage against the machiner. sometimes pastor.

Archives

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
