//
you're reading...
life, religion, women in ministry

good times

Over the past few weeks of the faith and gender class here at Quest, I have enjoyed the discussions, the personal stories, and learning from so many great people.  I’ve blogged about some of the negativity, some of my lingering questions, and the hurt that sometimes comes from discussing something that I can’t help but take personally.  At the same time, I’ve also been reminded of how blessed I am to be at Quest, in a church that’s supportive of all our leaders, men and women, and to be surrounded by so many incredible staff.  I enjoy working here, rocking the free wifi in the cafe while doing work and meeting with church folks, and getting the chance to be part of the lives in our community.  In our denomination, I’ve felt a great deal of support from my mentors–shout out to Eugene Cho, Harvey Drake and Mark Novak–and many others in the denomination.  Yeah, the question of women in ministry still comes up in large gatherings from some folks, but increasingly I am encouraged to remember that I’m called to be a minister of the gospel, to live the gospel with humility.  What more could anyone ask for?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “good times

  1. Leah, the issue of women in ministry has always fascinated me, possibly beyond my own understanding 🙂 Last year in a theology class we did a lot of research on Paul’s letters and I personally focused on his most controversial teachings on women in the church…which was very personal to me and I felt I needed better understanding. Anyways, I ended up writing my final paper on these issues…if you want to take a look at it you can: http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.ListAll&friendID=35237141
    It isn’t the most ground moving paper, but I was hoping to cause some controversy in my class…let me know what you think 🙂

    Posted by Tara | October 2, 2008, 6:23 pm
  2. thanks tara, i thought the paper was great. there’s much discussion (as you know) regarding cultural context vs. today’s social norms vs. what paul actually wrote…i like that you dived in headfirst, trying to figure it out for yourself, rather than rely on one viewpoint or another. we should chat next time you’re in town. 🙂

    Posted by leahklug | October 9, 2008, 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

About Me

wife, partner, daughter, and sister. traveler on the journey of faith. rage against the machiner. sometimes pastor.

Archives

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
