//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

wedding planning

summer may be winding down, but the weddings just keep on coming. as i prepare to celebrate with friends. officiate for church folks, and look back upon the big day for alan and i (one year ago!), i wanted to share our order of service. as an evangelical, i realize that in some circles our liturgical background can be lacking.  at the same time, the liturgy and order of the service can be a very beautiful thing.  for alan and i, we wanted to focus of our wedding to be on the ceremony, a time of worship, thanksgiving, and celebration together.

5 august 2007
order of service
mccann | klug wedding

service outline

gathering
prelude

processional or entrance bach’s cello suite no. 1
call to worship
hymn | praise song ALL CREATURES OF OUR GOD AND KING
invocation
declaration of purpose or exhortation

the word
readings from the scriptures

old testament PSALM 145
new testament ROMANS 12:9-21
hymn DOXOLOGY
sermon PE PREACHES

rite of marriage
marriage vows

vows:

individual vows:

I, (Name), take you (Name), to be my (husband/wife/spouse), my closest friend, my faithful partner in life, and my one true love. On this day, I give to you in the presence of God and our community my sacred promise to stay by your side as your faithful wife/husband in sickness and in health, in joy and in sorrow, through times of ease and times of trial. I will endeavor to love you without reservation, comfort you in times of distress, serve God and our world with you, encourage you to achieve your goals, laugh with you and cry with you, grow with you in mind and faith, always be open and honest with you, and cherish you until one of us should lay the other in the arms of Jesus.

together after individual vows:
Entreat me not to leave you, or to return from following after you, For where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. And where you die, I will die and there I will be buried. May the Lord do with me and more if anything but death parts you from me. (Ruth 1:16-17)
exchange of symbols of faithfulness (the rings)
prayer of dedication (laying on of hands) – performed by friends and family
sacrament of communion (communion blessed by Pastor Eugene, served by bride and groom)
communion song : BE THOU MY VISION
benediction
pastor eugene declares marriage
singing of benediction / THE BENEDICTION SONG

The Lord bless you and keep you, the Lord shine His face upon you, and give you peace, and give you peace forever.

recessional: song

Discussion

2 thoughts on “wedding planning

  1. be thou my vision was at our wedding too! congrats on your first year!

    Posted by Keren | September 4, 2008, 4:22 pm
  2. maybe my mind is feeble, but didn’t you and my bro get married on august 4th? not that it matters…but I started second guessing myself!

    Posted by katie | November 5, 2008, 8:52 am

Leave a Reply

About Me

wife, partner, daughter, and sister. traveler on the journey of faith. rage against the machiner. sometimes pastor.

Archives

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
